The Cycle University Varsity cyclo-cross program will once again be taking on the Northwest cyclo-cross circuit for 2012. All of these riders and support personnel have been recruited for both their professionalism, ability, sportsmanship, attitude, committment to the sport, and the ability to work in a team setting.

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

S.C.X. #6/Steilacoom V2

 On Sunday, November 18th the Cycle U-PopCap cyclocross team once again ventured down to Lakewood in Pierce County to compete in round six of the Seattle Cyclocross Series with precious points on the line as the series winds down.
  The men started off very strong with Jason Jablonski breaking away with series threat, Rainer Leuschke of Blue Rooster.  At the halfway point through the race, Jablonski broke clear of Leuschke and rode clear all the way to the finish line for his 4th win of the season.  This gave Jablonski a more comfortable lead in the series as the finals loomed the following weekend.
  In the 45+ race, Sean Kelsey had a slim lead over Mafia Racing's Jeff Beltramini.  Within a lap, Kelsey and Beltramini pulled clear of the rest of the field and began to exted their lead, taking turns on the front.  While riding adjacent to the pit area, Kelsey's chain bounced off his chainring on a very bumpy section of the course, getting lodged beneath his chain guide.  Unfortunately, Kelsey had alread passed the pit exit, and even though Team Director, Chad Berg had his spare bike right there, next to Kelsey, by the USA cycling rules, he could not provide the bike or assistance.  Very frustrated yet remaining calm, Kelsey worked to free his chain, as Beltramini rode away solo for the win.  Kelsey eventually freed the chain and had to settle for 18th place nearly a full lap off of what was sure to be a winning ride.
  In the women's race, Melanie Lewis rode a strong race to finish in 2nd while teammate Kristy Kelsey came in shortly after in 4th.  The next race will be the finals at the Evergreen fairgrounds in Monroe where the Series champions will be awarded and the remaining podium positions will be sought after.


Sean Kelsey  18th
Jason Jablonski  1st
Melanie Lewis  2nd
Kristy Kelsey  3rd

No comments:

Post a Comment